Jake Calypso

Jake Calypso (Herve Loison) was born May 24, 1964 in the North of France. He started to play Rockabilly in 1978. Backing by ‘The Red Hot’, Jake played in many many festivals with lot of energy & craziest shows everytime : Viva Las Vegas, Rockabilly Rave, High Rockabilly, Hangar Rockin’ & more, more…

Jake recently joined Ricky Lee Brawn & Helen Shadow for a new crazy project called The Nut Jumpers and they released our debut album on Rhythm Bomb Records


In the 80s he made his 1st album on the legendary label Mac Records in Belgium .
Later he released 2 albums with the band 'Mystery Train' on Rockhouse Records (NL) and Eagle Records (D). An oldschool Rockabilly Band. When 'Mystery Train' ceased to exist in 1999, Hot Chickens, a new trio was born!
And after 5 albums and a compilation, this band still exists & plays. It is only in 2009 that the name of JAKE CALYPSO appears! When he decided on the sidelines of Hot Chickens to record single with a real 50's sound ! ‘My Baby Rocks’ was the single & met a great success ! JAKE CALYPSO was born !

Down Town Mephis LP

Side A:

A1 - Turn me Loose
A2 - To Love Away
A3 - Downtown memphis
A4 - Trouble Bound

Side B:

B1 - I'm a Real Cool Cal
B2 - Be Mine Baby
B3 - Plans of Love
B4 - You Killing Me
B5 - When the Prelly Girl Bop


In almost 10 years, JAKE CALYSPO recorded 5 albums & many singles, EP.

- Grandaddy Grease (1st album in 2010)
- Father & Sons (2nd album in 2014) with the famous track ‘Call Me Baby’
- Downtown Memphis (3rd album in 2015) recorded in the legendary ‘Sun Studio Memphis.
- Vance Mississippi (4th album in 2016) more ‘Blues’ & ‘Boogie’ with Archie Lee Hooker (John Lee Hooker’s nephew)
- 100 Miles (5th album in 2017) the album from his heart ! the album of his life ! Only Elvis ballads with his voice recorded in Memphis, Tupelo, Nashville & Bad Nauheim.

Father & Sons

Jake Calypso and Willy

Willy and Jake

Henri with Jake in 2016 (Ship of lost souls - Herne)

Jake en Tanja

CD Jake calypso


Keep on Rocking! | © Rocking Rebels Eindhoven - All rights reserved | Design: BarTech

Drag & Drop Website Builder